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WMD-REM-13 2011
Reporting Oil Spills, Hazardous Waste Spills
and Groundwater Contamination

The State of New Hampshire has statutory and regulatory requirements regarding the reporting
of discharges of both petroleum products and hazardous wastes. To promote compliance with
these "duty to report™ requirements, the following excerpts are presented from the appropriate
laws and regulations.

IN THE EVENT OF A HAZARDOUS WASTE SPILL
Duty To Report, N.H. Hazardous Waste Management Act RSA 147-A:11,

1. Any generator, operator, transporter, or employee of a hazardous waste facility who
becomes aware of any storage, treatment, or disposal of hazardous waste in violation of
this chapter shall immediately report the violation to the NH Department of
Environmental Services Waste Management Division.

2. Any person who fails to give notice as required by RSA 147-A:11,1, shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor if a natural person, or guilty of a felony if any other person.

3. Each day of a continuing violation shall constitute a separate offense.
Immediate Action, ""Requirements for Hazardous Waste Generators" Env-Wm 500,

The generator shall report any discharge of hazardous waste or discharge of any material which
when discharged becomes a hazardous waste that poses a threat to human health or the
environment, for example, into storm or sanitary sewers, onto the land or into the air,
groundwater or surface waters. Notification shall be both:

1. Immediately, not to exceed one hour from discharge discovery, to local fire department

2. Immediately, not to exceed one hour from discharge discovery, to the DES Emergency
Response group at (603) 271-3899 (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.), or to the
New Hampshire Department of Safety at (603) 223-4381, 24 hours/day).



IN THE EVENT OF A PETROLEUM (OIL) SPILL
Duty To Report, N.H. Oil Spillage In Public Waters Act RSA 146-A:5,

1. The person/party responsible for the operation of any oil facility, carrier, or vessel that
discharges oil in violation of this chapter shall immediately notify the DES Waste
Management Division. Any person who fails to give such notice shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor if a natural person, or guilty of a felony if any other person.

2. Each day of a continuing violation shall constitute a separate offense.

3. Any person who becomes aware of an oil discharge in violation of this chapter shall
immediately notify the DES Waste Management Division.

Notification, ""Contaminated Sites Management” Env-Or 600

Any responsible party or other person having knowledge of a discharge of oil shall report such
discharge to the DES Waste Management Division immediately (603)271-3899 (Monday
through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.), or to the New Hampshire Department of Safety at (603)223-
4381, 24 hours/day), unless all of the following conditions are met:

The discharge is less than 25 gallons.

The discharge is immediately contained.

The discharge and/or contamination is completely removed within 24 hours.
There is no impact or potential impact to groundwater or surface water.

There is no potential for vapors which pose an imminent threat to human health.
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IN THE EVENT OF GROUNDWATER QUALITY VIOLATIONS
""Contaminated Sites Management” Env-Or 600

The responsible party shall notify the DES Waste Management Division within 60 days of
discovery of a violation of the ambient groundwater quality standards of Env-Or 603.01.

Disclaimer:

Information contained in this fact sheet is current as of April 9, 2007. Statutory or regulatory changes that may occur
subsequent to this date may cause part or all of the information to be invalid. If there are any questions concerning
the status of this information, please contact DES at (603)271-3899.



