skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Through its various units, DES’s Office of the Commissioner carries out a number of department-wide support functions such as accounting and budgeting, geological services, human resources management, information technology management, legal services, continuous process improvement (Lean), strategic planning and priority-setting, pollution prevention coordination and integration, and public outreach and information dissemination.

About the CommissionerCommissioner Burack

Tom Burack has served as the Commissioner of the NH Department of Environmental Services since November 2006. He has focused the department on providing exceptional customer service in all of its programs while also addressing the new environmental challenges of climate change and the transition to a clean energy economy, as well as ensuring that the state’s natural resources are managed in a sustainable manner as the state grows.

Nominated by Governor John Lynch, he had previously been an attorney in private law practice, representing a wide range of businesses, institutions and individuals in environmental, health and safety, and energy matters. Since its formation in 2008, Tom has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, Inc. and Chair of its Audit Committee. Tom served as the Chair of the Governor’s Climate Change Policy Task Force, which completed development of the New Hampshire Climate Action Plan in March 2009. Tom now serves as Chair of the New Hampshire Energy and Climate Collaborative, a voluntary collaboration of government, private sector and nonprofit/educational sector leaders working to leverage opportunities for and remove barriers to implementation of the most significant recommendations in New Hampshire's Climate Action Plan that will secure the State's energy, environmental and economic future.

At the national level, in September 2011 Tom was elected President of the Environmental Council of the States (ECOS), a non-profit, non-partisan association of state and territorial agency leaders whose purpose is to improve the capability of state environmental agencies and their leaders to protect and improve human health and the environment. Tom previously served as Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer and as Vice Chair of the Planning Committee for ECOS.

Prior to joining DES, Tom was an active participant in the NH Business & Industry Association’s environmental programs and also served as chair and a member of the boards of directors of both the NH Land and Community Heritage Investment Program and the Audubon Society of New Hampshire.

Tom graduated Dartmouth College and the University of Virginia School of Law, and is a Harry S. Truman Scholar. He resides in Hopkinton, NH with his wife and two school-aged children.

About the Assistant Commissioner Assistant Commissioner Quiram

In June of 2012, Vicki Quiram began serving as the Assistant Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Services. She has over 25 years of experience in a variety of disciplines in the Civil Engineering, Environmental and Public Works Management fields, both in the private and public sectors. Vicki previously served as a Public Works Director in Massachusetts. Prior to moving to Massachusetts, Vicki worked in California for the Ventura County Watershed Protection District and City of Ventura, where she managed wastewater, water, stormwater, streets, flood control and environmental programs and lead multiple-stakeholder watershed and storm water management teams. In the private sector she worked for engineering consulting firms and a gas and oil pipeline company. Vicki earned her Civil Engineering degree from the University of Texas at Austin. She is a Registered Professional Engineer (PE) and a Public Works Leadership Fellow (PWLF). She serves on the APWA Center for Sustainability and the Board of Directors and Executive Committee for the Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure (ISI), a partnership of APWA, ASCE and ACEC.

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire