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Wastewater Treatment Certification 

Wastewater treatment plant operators play a key role in protecting New Hampshire’s surface waters 
and groundwater. Operators maintain and operate various types of mechanical and computerized 
equipment in wastewater treatment facilities in order to remove the harmful components from 
wastewater and render the water suitable for discharge to a surface water or to groundwater. They 
operate and maintain pumps, pipes, valves and processing equipment to move wastewater through 
collection systems and through various treatment processes. They read and interpret meters and 
gauges. They also operate chemical-feeding devices, perform laboratory analyses and keep records of 
their work. They must be able to take on many different tasks and be familiar with electricity, 
mechanics, chemistry, microbiology, hydraulics and many other disciplines.  

Due to the importance of ensuring that wastewater is properly contained, conveyed and treated prior 
to being discharged, New Hampshire law requires public wastewater treatment plants to be operated 
only by operators who have been certified by the Department of Environmental Services (NHDES).  
The certification process is designed to make sure that certified operators have the knowledge and 
ability to properly operate and maintain such plants and the associated collection systems.  

Individuals who are interested in becoming a certified wastewater operator in New Hampshire who 
are not certified elsewhere must pass a written examination. Individuals who are certified elsewhere 
can apply to be certified by reciprocity (that is, without taking the examination) for Grades I, II, and 
III. The qualifications for each of the certification grades are as follows:  

Grade Experience Education Comments 

I-OIT 0 12 years HS diploma or HSE1 for education; upgrade to Grade I 
after earning 1 year full-time related work experience 

I 1 year 12 years HS diploma or HSE for education 

II-OIT 1 year 12 years HS diploma or HSE for education 

Or 0 years 13 years HS or HSE plus 1 year wastewater certificate 

II 3 years 12 years HS diploma or HSE for education 

III-OIT 2 years 14 years HS or HSE plus 90 CEUs or 2 years college 

III 4 years 14 years HS or HSE plus 90 CEUs or 2 years college 

IV-OIT 4 years 14 years HS or HSE plus 90 CEUs or 2 years college 

IV 6 years 14 years HS or HSE plus 90 CEUs or 2 years college 

                                                 
1 HSE refers to a High School Equivalency Certificate such as a G.E.D. 



 

Certification by Examination: Examinations are usually held in June and December of each year at 
the NHDES Operator Training Center in Franklin. Applicants must submit a complete, signed 
application with a $50 fee no later than two months prior to the date of the examination. (All 
application forms must be obtained from NHDES, either at the address above or from the NHDES 
website at http://des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/water/wweb/documents/certapp.pdf.) The 
Certification Committee established by statute reviews each application and required supporting 
documents, determines the applicant’s eligibility, and notifies the applicant in writing of whether he 
or she has qualified to take the examination. An applicant must achieve a score of 70 percent correct 
or higher to pass an examination for any Grade, including OIT grades. Any applicant who passes the 
OIT exam for the desired Grade must complete the full experience requirement prior to receiving a 
full Grade certificate.  

Certification by Reciprocity: An operator certified in another jurisdiction may apply for reciprocity 
for Grades I through III by so indicating on the application form. The Certification Committee will 
review the application and the requirements for certification of the certifying jurisdiction. The 
Committee will issue a certification by reciprocity if it determines that (1) the requirements of the 
other jurisdiction are equivalent to New Hampshire’s, (2) the individual is actively seeking 
employment in New Hampshire, and (3) the certification was obtained by examination.  

Meeting with Committee: Each applicant who meets all requirements for a Grade II or II-OIT or 
higher certification, whether by examination or reciprocity, must meet with the Certification 
Committee prior to receiving certification. Certain applicants who meet all requirements for a 
Grade I certification also must meet with the Committee prior to receiving certification. 

Renewal: Once an individual is certified, he or she is responsible for renewing the certification every 
two years. The individual must submit a complete, signed renewal application with a fee of $50 to 
NHDES prior to expiration of his or her existing certificate. If the renewal application with full 
payment is not received prior to the certification’s expiration, the certification can still be renewed by 
submitting the application, renewal fee, and an additional late fee of $25. After 90 days, the certification 
is expired and recertification will require a completely new application and retaking of the examination.  

Continuing Education: Certified operators are required to complete on-going education and training 
to renew their certifications. Each operator must submit proof that he or she has completed the 
required number of Continuing Education Units (CEUs) with the renewal application. For Grade I 
and I-OIT, 1.0 CEU is needed per renewal period. For Grades II and above (including OIT grades), 
2.0 CEUs are required per renewal period. CEUs are calculated based on ten hours of education 
equaling 1.0 CEU, or one college credit equaling 1.5 CEUs. If a certified operator earns more than 
the required number of CEUs, the operator may carry the excess CEUs forward to the next 
renewal period. A Grade I or I-OIT may carry forward 0.5 CEU, while operators at Grade II and 
above may carry forward 1.0 CEU. 

NHDES offers training courses in the spring and fall of each year at the NHDES Operator Training 
Center in Franklin. Classes are held during the day, and typically are five hours long with a one-hour 
lunch break. A wide variety of wastewater-related subjects are addressed during each session. 
Operators earn CEUs for each class attended. Course schedules and registration materials are 
available from NHDES approximately four weeks in advance of the first class. Registration is on a 
first come, first served basis. A nominal fee is charged to cover building and administrative expenses.  
For more information: Contact the NHDES Water Division, Wastewater Engineering Bureau, at 
(603) 271-3503 or check the NHDES website at www.des.nh.gov (look for Wastewater Engineering 
Bureau in the A to Z list). 
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