New Hampshire Water Well Contractor
License Information

Introduction: A water well contractor license is required of any entity or individual engaged in
well construction. Water well construction means any method, procedure or operation to
obtain water from a well including drilling, digging, well development (including hydro-
fracturing or other methods), and well decommissioning. Licenses are issued by the NH
Water Well Board to contractors and are specific to construction type.

Number of Licensed Contractors: 190

Fees: Application Fee: $25.00
Exam Fee: $10.00 each category
License Fees: Rotary $225.00

Technical $225.00
Wash Well  $150.00
Cable Tool  $150.00
Point Well  $150.00
Dug Well $100.00

Processing Time: Applications must be received at least 10 days prior to the next licensing board
meeting date, processing is completed approximately four weeks after the exam date.

License Duration:  One year

Transferability: Not transferable

License Renewal:  Annually, July 1 with correct license fee.
NH Statute: RSA 482:B

NH Code of Administrative Rules: We 100 — We 1000

Appeals Body: NH Water Well Board
Additional Information: =~ New Hampshire Water Well Board
29 Hazen Dr.
PO Box 95
Concord, NH 03302-0095
Contact: Richard Schofield
Telephone:  (603)271-1974
Fax: (603) 271-0656
E-mail: Richard.Schofield@des.nh.gov

Website: www.des.nh.gov/organizations/division/water/gwgb/wwb/index.htm



Water Well Contractor Licénse — Work Sheet

How To Apply:

e If you meet the professional requirements listed below, obtain an application from
the NH Water Well Board (603) 271-1974.

e Completely fill out the application, include all requisite experience and
company/corporate information.

e Submit the application to the NH Water Well Board at least 10 days prior to the
next posted Board meeting date.

e A Water Well Contractor license does not authorize a company or individual to
install, repair or maintain water well pumps.

Requirements:

e Experience: Applicants shall have a minimum three years of experience directly related
to the type of license to be issued, one year shall be drilling in crystalline rocks of the
Appalachian Region.

e Examination: Exams are required of all applicants and are specific to license type.



