skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
PUBLIC GOVERNMENT BUSINESS A to Z LIST

Asbestos
Asbestos License and Certification

Purpose
To ensure that contractors, workers and consultants doing asbestos abatement or disposal site work in New Hampshire are properly trained and qualified to do the work safely.

Applicability
All contractors, workers, and consultants doing asbestos abatement work, asbestos disposal site work and asbestos consulting in schools must be trained, and certified and/or licensed for their specific type of work.

Licenses are issued for the following types of companies:

  • Asbestos abatement entity (contractors)
  • Asbestos disposal site contractors

Certifications are issued for the following types of workers:

  • Asbestos abatement supervisors
  • Asbestos abatement workers
  • Asbestos inspectors
  • Asbestos management planners
  • Asbestos project designers
  • Asbestos disposal site workers 

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 141-E Asbestos Management and Control
Env-A 1800 Asbestos Management and Control
Env-Sw 2100 Management and Control of Asbestos Disposal Sites Not Operated After July 10, 1981

Application
Licenses
Asbestos Abatement Entity (contractor) Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Asbestos Disposal Site Contractor Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Certifications
Asbestos Abatement Supervisor Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Asbestos Abatement Worker (English Version)Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Asbestos Abatement Worker (Spanish Version)Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Asbestos Consultants (inspectors, management planners, project designers)Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Asbestos Disposal Site WorkerAdobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Fee  
Abatement Supervisor: $200 (initial and renewal)
Abatement Worker: $50 (initial and renewal)
Consultant: $200 first category (initial and renewal)
$50 for each additional certification category on the same application (includes Inspector, Management Planner and Project Designer)
Disposal Site Worker: $50 (initial and renewal)
Abatement Contractor: $1,000 (initial)
$750 (renewal)
Disposal Site Contractor: $250 (initial and renewal)

Processing Time
Typically within one week (law RSA 541-A allows for up to 120 days).

Term/Renewal
Licenses, certifications and training courses are good for one year. As required by Env-A 1800, licenses, certifications and training courses must be up to date for a company or person to work on asbestos abatement or disposal site projects.

Modification/Amendments
Notify the asbestos program in writing within 30 days of changes in contractor ownership or address information.

Transferability
Worker, supervisor, and consultant certificates are not transferable to another person. Contractors may transfer ownership. The new owners must meet applicable training requirements.

Appeals
Any person aggrieved by the denial of a license or certification may file an appeal to the Air Resources Council within 10 days of the denial in accordance with Env-AC 200.

Status of Current Applications
Contact Steve Cullinane at stephen.cullinane@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-1373 or Joy Perkins at joy.perkins@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-4609.

More Information
Asbestos Program
Certified Asbestos Consultants Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Licensed Asbestos Abatement Contractors Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Contact Us
Asbestos Program
Steve Cullinane at stephen.cullinane@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-1373; or Contact Us

 

 

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.




NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire