skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
PUBLIC GOVERNMENT BUSINESS A to Z LIST

Hazardous Waste Coordinator Certification Program
Hazardous Waste Coordinator Certification

DES requires each hazardous waste generator/facility that generates, creates, or produces more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste in one calendar month to have on staff at the facility a DES certified Hazardous Waste Coordinator (HWC). The HWC is responsible for ensuring that the facility is aware of its responsibility to be in compliance with the state Hazardous Waste Rules. The certification, however, belongs to the individual and not the facility. Certified HWCs can only be associated with one site (EPA ID number) at one time.

Purpose
The Hazardous Waste Coordinator Certification program is a compliance tool, which requires generators to become knowledgeable and certified in hazardous waste management; provides uniform training and technical assistance for Hazardous Waste Coordinators; and provides an important means of protecting the New Hampshire environment.

Applicability
Any hazardous waste generator/facility that generates, creates or produces more than 220 pounds of hazardous waste in one calendar month must have on staff at the facility a DES certified Hazardous Waste Coordinator (HWC). To earn certification, applicants must first attend the DES “Basic” certification training course and pass a comprehensive written test; and thereafter, annually apply for and attend an approved renewal training course (Basic or Module). As long as the certificate remains current, applicants do not need to test annually.

Course Schedule

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 147-a 5, III.
Hazardous Waste Rules (Env-Hw)

Application
Application Form Microsoft Word Symbol

Fee
$250 per person annual fee, includes $125 annual program and $125 course fee.

Processing Time
Certificates will be mailed approximately one month after successfully completing course and/or passing the certification test.

Term/Renewal
One year from date of initial certification or one year from renewal course date. Module courses are available to those in good standing with current certificates. DES allows a 90-day grace period for renewal courses, as long as the 90 days does not extend into the next calendar year. HWCs with expired or lapsed certification will need to retake the Basic course and test to become certified.

Modification/Amendments
HWCs who change companies or jobs during the year and wish to maintain certification, should contact DES to modify their certification.

Transferability
Certification is non-transferable to another person.

Appeals
Individuals who fail to pass the test may retake it two more times in the same calendar year. They may opt to self-study and retake the test. If unsuccessful, they must attend another Basic course (course fee only). The test may not be taken more than three times in one calendar year.

Status of Current Applications
Contact Judy Small at judy.small@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-2990.

More Information
US Code of Federal Regulations: Attendance at HWCC training counts for that individual as annual hazardous waste training under 40 CFR 265.16 for fully-regulated generators of hazardous waste (Federal Large Quantity Generators).

Hazardous Waste Coordinator Training and Certification Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol(Fact Sheet WMD-HW-26)
Full Quantity Generator Requirements in New Hampshire Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Contact Us
Hazardous Waste Coordinator Certification Program website ; or (603) 271-2942 or (866) HAZWAST (Toll Free In-State Hotline, 8-4 M-F)

 

 

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.

Microsoft Word Symbol Microsoft Word format. Download a free viewer from Microsoft.




NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire