skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
PUBLIC GOVERNMENT BUSINESS A to Z LIST

Hazardous Waste Compliance Section
Hazardous Waste Transfer Facility Permit

Purpose
To establish conditions to safely store, bulk or consolidate hazardous waste.

Applicability
Facilities that store, bulk, or consolidate hazardous waste from off-site generator locations for up to 10 days prior to transferring the waste to an authorized hazardous waste treatment, storage, or disposal facility.

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 147-A:4 Hazardous Waste Management/Operator Permits
Env-Hw 304.07 Permitting Hazardous Waste Facilities/Fees (Env-Hw 300 Permits)
Env-Hw 304.01 Permitting Hazardous Waste Facilities/Transfer Facility Permits (Env-Hw 300 Permits)

Application
The application form may be obtained by contacting Linda Birmingham at linda.birmingham@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-5328.

Fee
The initial fee is $4,500. The renewal or modification fee is $3,000.

Processing Time
12 to 18 months after the application is deemed complete.

Term/Renewal
Term is five years. To obtain a renewal, a new application must be submitted to the Hazardous Waste Compliance Section at least 270 days prior to the expiration date of the existing permit.

Modification
Modifications may be requested through a written submittal to the Hazardous Waste Compliance Section accompanied by supporting technical information.

Transferability
The new owner must notify abutters and submit a request for a permit modification to the Hazardous Waste Compliance Section at least 90 days prior to the scheduled ownership change.

Appeals
Any person aggrieved by a final decision can appeal to the Waste Management Council in accordance with RSA 21-O:9.

Status of Current Applications
Contact Linda Birmingham at linda.birmingham@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-5328.

More Information
It is strongly suggested that the applicant meet with Hazardous Waste Compliance Section representatives before submitting an application, to review permit application requirements including the siting requirements of Env-Hw 304.09 (Env-Hw 300 Permits). Please contact Linda Birmingham at linda.birmingham@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-5328.

Contact Us
Hazardous Waste Compliance Section or Linda Birmingham at linda.birmingham@des.nh.gov or (603) 271-5328.


NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire