skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
PUBLIC GOVERNMENT BUSINESS A to Z LIST

Overview
sqg logo The Small Quantity Generator (SQG) Self-Certification Program requires each SQG to review its hazardous waste management procedures, conduct a self-inspection of its facility and certify compliance to DES every three years. SQGs that are not in compliance must develop a Corrective Action Plan, specifying how they plan to come into compliance within 90 days from the date the declaration is due. Effective July 1, 2007, SQGs must also submit a fee of $90 per year, payable every three years at the time of certification. Please note, the renewal fee is $270 payable every three years. However, regardless of the certification date, each SQG is responsible for payment beginning in the year that the SQG becomes an active hazardous waste generator. Political subdivisions of the state, typically municipalities and public schools, are exempt from the fee but not the certification requirement. State agencies are not considered political subdivisions and are required to pay the fee.

The Challenge

SQGs need just as much attention as the larger generators of hazardous waste and have management concerns unique to their business. With approximately 2,500 SQGs in New Hampshire, DES cannot efficiently inspect each one. Many SQGs are located within drinking water protection areas and their waste is a potential contamination source. Approximately one third of all hazardous waste sites in New Hampshire are the result of mismanaged waste generated by SQGs.

The Solution!

Self-certification! What does that mean? It means that we give you the inspection forms and let you take a look at your operations. You know your operations the best and you will benefit directly from using the self-certification checklist.

For its part, DES will provide educational opportunities through outreach and training to assist SQGs to comply with substantive requirements as well as the certification requirement. Also, by providing assistance to SQGs it is possible to increase proper management activity in regard to hazardous waste and keep SQGs in compliance with applicable regulations. The fee helps fund the positions responsible for overall program management, as well as, providing outreach and conducting compliance inspections.

The Potential Benefits to You!

  • Achieving and maintaining compliance!
  • Making your work safer and lessening your future liability by reducing or eliminating hazardous waste generation or by modifying waste management techniques.
  • Identifying ways to save money. For example, recycling used oil, does not count towards your generator status.
  • Accessing state sponsored training and technical assistance opportunities.

Follow these four simple steps!!

  • First things first! Are you a Small Quantity Generator? What is a SQG?
  • Learn how the Program Works
    Fact Sheet WMD-HW-27 Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol- A good Overview of the program
    RSA 147-A:5, IV – The statute that requires the program
    Rules - Final rules providing oversight on how to comply with the law
  • Find out when you need to certify!
    If you are an existing SQG you can determine when you need to complete the self-certification form and pay the fee based on the county that you are located. The SQG Program was implemented and is managed in three phases, based on counties, in order to create a manageable and consistent workload. If you are a new SQG you should self-certify when you notify DES of your hazardous waste activity. That is, you should complete a self-certification and declaration of compliance form when you apply for an Environmental Protection Agency Identification Number (EPA ID#).

    Phase 1: The first certification due date for SQGs located in Rockingham and Strafford Counties was January 1, 2004. Renewals are due every three years after the initial date, such that January 1 of 2007 and 2010 were previous due dates. The next renewal date for these counties to provide the form and the fee is by January 1, 2013 and every three years thereafter, such that January 1 of 2016, 2019, 2022… are the due dates.

    Phase 2: The first certification due date for SQGs located in Cheshire and Hillsborough counties was January 1, 2005. Renewals are due every three years after the initial date, such that January 1 of 2008 and 2011 were previous due dates. The next renewal date for these counties to provide the form and the fee is by January 1, 2014 and every three years thereafter, such that January 1 of 2017, 2020, 2023… are the due dates.

    Phase 3: The first certification due date for SQGs located in Belknap, Carroll, Coos, Grafton, Merrimack and Sullivan counties was January 1, 2006. Renewals are due every three years after the initial date, such that January 1 of 2009 and 2012 were previous due dates. The next renewal date for these counties, that is, the due date to provide the form and the fee is by January 1, 2015 and every three years thereafter, such that January 1 of 2018, 2021, 2024… are the due dates.

  • Get the forms you need online!
    You need to fill out the self certification form and the accompanying notification form. Also, if you take advantage of the extended storage provisions, you will need to do that checklist as well.

Frequently Asked Questions

Having trouble filling out the forms? Need some guidance on managing your hazardous wastes? We've compiled our most frequently asked questions to help.

Getting Your Money’s Worth

This program is mandatory and the department will pursue options to ensure that self-certifications are completed and that fees are submitted. The department has a staff of hazardous waste inspectors that visit small quantity generators from time to time. Please be advised, that as a matter of business and to ensure that the information provided on the form is accurate, the department expects to visit ten percent of small quantity generators that report each year, as well as those that fail to report.

 

 

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.

Microsoft Word Symbol Microsoft Word format. Download a free viewer from Microsoft.




NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire