skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
PUBLIC GOVERNMENT BUSINESS A to Z LIST

Small Quantity Generator Self-Certification Program (SQG)
Small Quantity Generator Self-Certification and Declaration of Compliance

A small quantity generator (SQG) of hazardous waste is an individual or a company that generates or makes less than 220 pounds (100 kilograms) of hazardous waste in each and every month. The law requires each SQG to review their hazardous waste management procedures, conduct a self-inspection of their facility and certify compliance to DES every three years. Given the large number of hazardous waste generators in the state, DES has found self-certification and declaration of compliance to be the most effective way to regulate compliance at these facilities.

Purpose
The self-certification process helps generators to learn which hazardous waste rules apply to them, and encourages generators to comply with those rules. After answering specific questions about how hazardous waste is managed at their facility, the facility owner signs a certification declaration affirming that the answers are correct and complete.

Applicability
Anyone, individual or company, that generates or makes hazardous waste less than 220 pounds (100 kilograms) in each and every month must certify. State and municipal facilities at the SQG size must self-certify.

Statue and Administrative Rules
RSA 147-A5; IV

Application
DES sends self-certification and declaration of compliance forms upon notification that a facility is generating at SQG amounts and on the renewal date for the county in which the facility is located. (See below for details.) In October of each year, DES sends self-certification forms to facility owners for them to complete and return by January 1 of the next year.
Self-Certification FormMicrosoft Word Symbol
Self-Certification Form Instructions Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Fee
$270 every three years. The fee is payable every three years at the time of certification. Political subdivisions of the state, town and city owned facilities are exempt from the fee, but not from the requirement to complete the SQG form. Fees are not refundable.

Processing Time
Two weeks, if the form is complete and the fee is paid. Incomplete forms will be returned.

Term/Renewal

Counties Self-Certifications Due Date, Fee is $270
Rockingham & Strafford January 1: 2010…and every 3 years after
Cheshire & Hillsborough January 1: 2011…and every 3 years after
Belknap, Carroll, Coos, Grafton, Merrimack & Sullivan January 1: 2012…and every 3 years after

Modification/Amendments
Not applicable.

Transferability
Non-transferable.

Appeals
Not applicable.

Status of Current Applications
Small Quantity Generator Self-Certification Program at (603) 271-2942.

Contact Us
Small Quantity Generator Self-Certification Program website; or (603) 271-2942.

 

 

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.

Microsoft Word Symbol Microsoft Word format. Download a free viewer from Microsoft.




NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire