The Federal Energy Policy Act requires states to develop training guidelines for three distinct classes of operators who operate and maintain federally regulated underground storage tank (UST) systems. Effective August 8, 2012, RSA 146-C:17-21 requires that all regulated facilities in New Hampshire have designated Class A, B and C operators who have been trained and certified in accordance with an approved training program.
This applies to owners of all UST facilities having an individual tank capacity greater than 110 gallons or of unknown size that stores a regulated substance. This does not apply to owners of non-residential heating oil USTs smaller than 1,100 gallons and all residential heating oil USTs.
No application. To register for a class, contact Suzanne Connelly, Operator Training Coordinator, at (603) 271-0673 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
No fee at this time. RSA 146-C:18 does allow DES to charge a fee to cover expenses for operator training that are not paid by federal grants.
Class registrations are processed immediately. Statements of training, which must be submitted by all regulated facilities in New Hampshire, will be processed within 24-48 hours of receiving them.
Every 2 years.
Status of Current Applications
Underground Storage Tank Facility Search
Underground Storage Tank Operator Training Program