skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
PUBLIC GOVERNMENT BUSINESS A to Z LIST

Groundwater Discharge Permitting and Registration
Groundwater Discharge Permit

Purpose
To protect groundwater quality by establishing standards, criteria, and procedures for wastewater discharges.

Applicability
All discharges to ground or groundwater that are not permitted by Subsurface Systems Bureau; over 20,000 gallons per day from single source; discharges using other than subsurface leaching; aquifer recharge; or discharging treated contaminated wastewater.

Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 485-A:13 Water Pollution And Waste Disposal/Water Discharge Permits  
RSA 485:3, X New Hampshire Safe Drinking Water Act/Public Water Supply Protection Program  
RSA 485-C:6 Groundwater Protection Act/Ambient Groundwater Quality Standards  
Env-Wq 402 Groundwater Discharge Permit and Registration Rules

Application
Groundwater Discharge Permit Application Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol

Fee
$1,000.

Processing Time
A written decision to grant or deny the requested permit will be made within 90 days from receipt of a complete permit application.

Term/Renewal
The permit term is five years. A permit renewal application must be submitted with the fee prior to the permit term. The renewal application must include an update of all information submitted for the expiring permit and information regarding any future modifications according to Env-Wq 402.28.

Modification/Amendments
A written request to modify or terminate a permit may be submitted, including reasons for the request and a table summarizing all monitoring results to date from existing monitoring points according to Env-Wq 402.29.

Transferability
A written request to transfer the permit to a new owner must be submitted at least 90 days prior to the transfer according to Env-Wq 402.30.

Appeals
Any person aggrieved by a final decision can appeal to the Water Council in accordance with RSA 21 0:7 .

Status of Current Applications
Groundwater Permit Search

More Information
Groundwater Discharge Permitting Guidance Document for Recharging Aquifers with Reclaimed Wastewater Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol
Guidelines for Developing an Artificial Recharge Project  (Fact Sheet WD-DWGB-22-25)
Management of Vehicle Wash Water (Fact Sheet WD-DWGB-22-10)

Contact Us
Groundwater Discharge Permitting and Registration or (603) 271-2858.

 

 

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.




NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire