To protect groundwater quality and maintain a statewide inventory of potential sources of groundwater contamination.
Geothermal or ground source heat exchange systems that serve industrial, commercial, or institutional facilities, or multi-unit residential structures.
Statute and Administrative Rules
RSA 485-A:13 Water Pollution And Waste Disposal/Water Discharge Permits
RSA 485:3, X New Hampshire Safe Drinking Water Act/Public Water Supply Protection Program
RSA 485-C:6 Groundwater Protection Act/Ambient Groundwater Quality Standards
Env-Wq 402 Groundwater Discharge Permit and Registration Rules
Typically, 15 to 45 days.
A new registration must be submitted to DES that clearly states and provides the rationale for any proposed changes to the original registration.
The registrant (facility owner) must provide the new owner’s name, mailing address, and daytime telephone number in writing to DES within 10 days of the transfer. The new owner must register the discharge with DES within 30 days of the transfer.
Status of Current Applications
Groundwater Permit Search
Requirements for Geothermal Systems in New Hampshire (Fact Sheet WD-DWGB-22-23)
Groundwater Discharge Permitting and Registration or (603) 271-2858.
Adobe Acrobat Reader format. Download a free reader from Adobe.