skip navigation
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Annual Source Water Protection and Source Water Sustainability Awards
Each year DES recognizes a water system, municipality, organization, or person for exemplary efforts to protect drinking water resources through a Source Water Protection Award. The Source Water Sustainability Award, which was first awarded in 2010, recognizes work to preserve the sustainability of our drinking water resources.


Source Water Protection

Source Water Sustainability


John H. Bergeron, Canaan Source Water Protection Committee

For his exemplary work as a community leader in Canaan, New Hampshire to plan and implement source protection measures for both Canaan Street Lake and public water supply wells.

Richard M. Meleski, Superintendent, Winchester Water and Wastewater Treatment Facility

For his work as Superintendent of the Winchester Water Department, Winchester, New Hampshire, providing a pioneering example of how public water systems can better conserve groundwater resources in New Hampshire.


David E. Sharples, city of Somersworth

For his role in the city's recent adoption of innovative low impact development (LID) land use regulations as well as strategic land conservation efforts.

William S. Weber, Village District of Eastman, Grantham

For his work to implement various water efficiency enhancements to the water system and in communicating the importance of water conservation to Eastman residents.


Eric Senecal, Lakes Region Planning Commission, Meredith; and Green Mountain Conservation Group, Effingham

For their work to assist four of six towns in the Ossipee aquifer area to adopt new local ordinances that provide a more consistent level of aquifer protection.

Wade Crawshaw, Gunstock Acres Village District, Gilford

For his work to install an innovative system that rapidly detects and locates water leaks in the system's piping.


Erica Anderson and Lakes Region Planning Commission, Meredith

For their work on aquifer protection in the towns of Belmont, Northfield, and Tilton.

Sue Foote and Seabrook Water and Sewer Advisory Committee

For their work in achieving water conservation by funding water meters and other water system improvements.


Thomas Cravens, Portsmouth Water Works, Portsmouth

For his many years of work to protect Portsmouth's water supply wells and Bellamy Reservoir.


Jack Munn, Southern New Hampshire Regional Planning Commission

For his work to improve source protection in the greater Manchester area through a regional source water protection initiative.


Dick Strickford, Contoocook Village Precinct, Contoocook

For his work to protect, secure, and monitor Bear Pond and its watershed as the water supply source for Contoocook Village Precinct.


Town of Hollis

For its exemplary zoning ordinances to protect groundwater and surface water, as well as for its extensive protection of conservation lands and its private water supply well testing program.


Waukewan Watershed Advisory Committee, Meredith; town of Meredith; and Jennifer O. Palmiotto, N.H. Rural Water Association

For their work to prepare a management plan for Lake Waukewan and its watershed.


Press Releases:

NH Department of Environmental Services | 29 Hazen Drive | PO Box 95 | Concord, NH 03302-0095
(603) 271-3503 | TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 | Hours: M-F, 8am-4pm

copyright 2014. State of New Hampshire